top of page

Editor-Info Roundup


My blogpost today is all about information.

First, I’d like to inform you readers about some upcoming features I have lined up to appear in the next several weeks. I’m excited to announce that I will be able to present you with an interview of a poet and writer, a poetry collection review, and an essay on the writing pros and cons, as well as some editing advice, from a novelist/poet — all with, by, and about 3 different previous contributors to The Centrifugal Eye, the literary journal I edited and published for over 11 years.

I'm not giving hints as to whom and for which feature, as of yet, but as the works evolve, I’m sure I won’t be able to completely resist divulging more about these TCE writers. If you continue following my blog updates every Friday, you’ll soon be entertained by these illuminating guest-events.


"Three beautiful doors, in pink, blue, and purple." Painting, E.A. Hanninen, 2017

The rest of today’s blog is short and simple: it’s a roundup of links to a couple of interviews, with more links inside the first, among those I’ve had over the years (some no longer available online). In these, I was the interviewee, instead of interviewer (as I conducted several times a year for TCE).

The reason I’m making both of these interviews available to you in one place is to provide a comprehensive insight into me as an editor, as well as a poet and writer. If I’ve been your editor already, this may refresh your impetus to work with me again on a future project. And if you’ve never worked with me, I hope that by having generous access to my ideas and ethics, and even some samples of work, you will feel encouraged and confident that I am the right editor for you, too.

Interviews are a great source of self-promotion, an opportunity that any writer (or editor) should embrace, if given the opportunity.

I got the idea, last week, to share these interviews with readers in a refreshed format, when I stumbled across the link to a 2013 interview with me, where poet and publisher, Michael Lee Johnson, was the interviewer. I had forgotten just how much information we covered in that interview; there are several more useful links within the interview, itself, that are still functional and which I hope you’ll enjoy following, too:

A little more than midway through my editorial stint with TCE, I also had an interview with UK poet, writer, and photographer, Tim Diggles. This interview touches upon editorial process rather thoroughly, and shows the care and attention I give to writers’ works. The way I cared about the contributors to my journal is also the way I care about my freelance clients. This interview also gives references to some excellent texts on writing poetry, and on revising and editing, in general. At the end, I talk about a familiar idea — one that I also touched upon recently here on the blog, in “How to Walk a Slanted Floor.”

(Note: The link at the end of the Diggles/Hanninen interview is no longer functional. For the current web address for The Centrifugal Eye’s back issues, follow: http://centrifugaleye.com/)

My desire here is for you to get to know me a little better, and I hope these interviews did just that. Have a great week! See you next time.

Save

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page